The Limerick Bandstand
Built - 1882
The very picturesque town of Limerick is nestled in the foothills of the White Mountains in York County near the New Hampshire state line in the lower western part of the state. A recent census declares Limerick as being the second fastest growing community in the county but it still maintains its pleasant and quiet atmosphere.
Limerick was one of a group of local towns called the "Five Ossippee Towns" by Indians in the region. In 1668 these same Indians sold this land to a trader from Kittery, Maine - Francis Small, for two blankets, two gallons of rum, two pounds of powder, four pounds of musket balls and twenty strings of beads. The land was then sold to other settlers, most notably, a lawyer from Biddeford - James Sullivan, who developed the land. In his honor, Limerick was named after Mr. Sullivan's father's birthplace in Ireland.
Farming became the leading industry in Limerick for early settlers but by the early 1800s manufacturing was lead in which was the case for thousands of these small towns throughout the country. The town is filled with striking houses of the 18th and 19th centuries, with many other homes lying in more rural neighborhoods.
In May of 1882, an editorial in the local Ossippee Valley News sought town support for summer out-of-doors concerts in Limerick and suggested "There must be life enough in the village to raise the wherewithal to erect a band stand!!!"
The 23-piece Limerick Cornet Band was organized in 1881 and it is likely that the bandstand was built shortly after once the above newspaper article challenged the residents of the town.
Once the bandstand was built, it was readily admired with its charming steeply sloped roof and demanded many photos immediately taken of it. The style of the bandstand is known as an "English Garden" model.
INFORMATION PROVIDED BY:
"Lest We Forget - Barbara Merrill Fox, author