Lee River Park
Built - 1997
Lee is considered to be the gateway to the Berkshires for many visitors. The origin of the town's name was established in 1777 when it was incorporated and named in honor of General Charles Lee who was 2nd in command to General George Washington during the American Revolution.
The town is most noted for its world-renowned marble which is considered to be the hardest and finest quality in the world and has been used in the construction of many famous buildings including our Nation's Capital building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, the New York City Hall, the Empire State Building and Columbia University. It was also used in the building of Grant's Tomb, the Massachusetts State House and the Boston Public Library, to name a few, as well as a number of buildings in Lee also.
Lee is also the location of working mills which employes a number of its residents along with the quarry. The town is very quiet and unostentious and a walk down its old-fashioned Main Street will show off the country's tallest wooden church steeple and Joe's Diner, made famous by Norman Rockwell's painting, "The Runaway." The town also boasts a genuine five and ten cent store and many other shops with very friendly people there to attend to your needs. The town also offers several scenic sites including Laurel Lake, October Mountain State Forest and many rolling hills as a back-drop to the town.
Lee's "Gazebo" is situated in Lee River Park and was built in 1997 by Okerstrom Lang LTD to be used as a gathering spot to enjoy the river and during the town's Founder's Day along with many concerts by various bands. The structure was fianced by a town grant and is the first the town has had and is enjoying.
INFORMATION SUPPLIED BY:
Suzanne Scarpa, DPW secy/town clerk